Getting My Life Together

Andrew Valdez
4 min readAug 29, 2023
https://unsplash.com/@davidmarcu

I have got to get my life together.

This is a phrase I have heard a lot recently. By friends, family, complete strangers, I have even caught myself saying this in the past. On the surface it makes sense; we can become complacent or have contempt with our current circumstances. Life can get flat, like a soda left out for too long. Some days can leave a foul taste in your mouth and, if there’s enough of those days, it can begin to feel like the problem is inescapable. Something needs to change, I need to change, I need to get my shit together and get my life where it needs to be. Although I completely understand this sentiment of getting your life together, I also believe it’s inherently wrong.

I’m a storyteller by trade. This means that my livelihood is dependent upon engaging people with interesting stories. Whether those stories make them laugh, or entertains them, or reveals one of life’s truths, at the end of the day my success banks on telling a good story. I’ll let you in on a little secret, I don’t think I’m very good at it.

I’m being serious. Every time I pick up the microphone or get in front of my laptop, I struggle every time. I feel this is especially true of my abilities as a comedian. I get laughs but I’m not consistently killing. I bomb far more times than I kill. I’m approaching my fifth year doing stand up and at times I still feel…

--

--